Two Careers are Better than One, says Harvard Publication

Harvard Business Review published “Why You Should Have (at Least) Two Careers” by Kabir Sehgal. Here are some interesting excerpts:

“My corporate job paycheck subsidizes my record producing career…At the same time, I typically invite my corporate clients to recording sessions. For someone who works at an office all day, it’s exciting to go “behind-the-scenes” and interact with singers, musicians, and other creative professionals. While I was in Cuba making an album, one of my clients observed about the dancing musicians, “I’ve never been around people who have so much fun at work.” That my clients have a phenomenal experience only helps me drive revenue at work, so my corporate and recording careers are mutually beneficial.”

“For example, one of my clients wanted to understand what Chinese citizens were saying to each other. Because I am an author, I have gotten to know other writers, so I reached out to my friend who was a journalist at a periodical that monitors chatter in China…By being in different circles, you can selectively introduce people who would typically never meet and unlock value for everyone.”

“When you work different jobs, you can identify where ideas interact — and more significantly, where they should interact.”

Leave a Reply

